Astro Arena received three wins at the 2020/21 SAM-100PLUS Unity Awards at Hilton Petaling Jaya on Tuesday.

Aimed at recognising efforts and contributions of sports media practitioners, the ceremony saw almost 200 entries submitted for 17 journalism categories.

Ahmad Shahrazad Sani landed the 2020 Best Special Report award for his Tiupan Angin Ahmar story and Karl Iskandar Nunis took home the 2021 Best Commentary for Electronic Media award for his work on therapeutic tapes used by professional athletes.

Zulhelmi Zainal Azam joined the duo with the 2021 Best News Report for Electronic Media honour for his coverage on a brawl between Johor Darul Ta'zim and Kedah Darul Aman personnel after the former defeated the latter in a Malaysian Super League match last year.

As the winners, Zulhelmi Zainal and Karl Iskandar received RM4000 cash prize each, and Ahmad Shahrazad was awarded RM3000.

Malaysian athletes were also recognised at the event, with Commonwealth Games powerlifting gold medallist Bonnie Bunyau Gustin retaining the Para Athlete of the Year award and cycling icon Azizulhasni Awang being named the Athlete of the Year.

Bonnie clinched the honour ahead of Abdul Latif Romly (athletics), Cheah Liek Hou (badminton) and Chew Wei Lun (boccia), while Azizulhasni beat Lee Zii Jia (badminton), Aaron Chia-Soh Wooi Yik (badminton), Pandelela Rinong (diving) and Rifdean Mansor (Muay Thai).