Azizulhasni Awang became the first Malaysian cyclist to win a gold medal in the men's sprint event at the Asian Games on Thursday.

The 30-year-old former world champion beat Japan's Tomohiro Fukaya in two rounds in the final at the Jakarta International Velodrome.

He was also the second non-Japanese rider to win the men's sprint event after China's Zhang Lei ended a 59-year Japanese domination in 2010.

Malaysia's previous best Asian Games achievement in sprint was Josiah Ng winning silver in 2002 in Busan.

Coupled with a keirin win in the 2010 edition in Guangzhou, Azizulhasni also became the only Malaysian cyclist to win two different events at the Asian Games.

Malaysia's other gold medal-winning riders were Ng Joo Ngan in men's road race and Daud Ibrahim in 1600m mass start in 1970.

Meanwhile, compatriot compatriot Shah Firdaus Sahrom was unable to join him on the podium after losing to South Korea's Im Chaebin in a bronze medal match.