Real Madrid begin the defence of their LaLiga title on the road against Almeria, with the fixtures for the 2022-23 season confirmed on Thursday.

Xavi's first full season in charge of Barcelona begins at the Nou Camp against Rayo Vallecano, while Diego Simeone's Atletico Madrid kick off their campaign away from home against Getafe.

Elsewhere on the opening matchday, Sevilla travel to Osasuna, Athletic Bilbao host Mallorca and play-off winners Girona face Valencia.

The LaLiga season begins on August 12 and will run until a mid-season break for the World Cup in Qatar, with the campaign pausing on November 13 and resuming on December 29.

Madrid, who clinched the double last season under Carlo Ancelotti after beating Liverpool in the Champions League final in Paris, will host the first El Clasico of the season at the Santiago Bernabeu on October 16, with the return fixture in Barcelona on March 19.

Meanwhile, the first Madrid derby of the season falls on September 18, while the Andalusian derby between Sevilla and Real Betis takes place on November 6.

On the final matchday, Madrid host Athletic Bilbao, Barcelona are on the road against Celta Vigo and Atletico tackle Villarreal – with the season concluding on June 4 2023.