Wigan Warriors defeated Huddersfield Giants 19-6 at Headingley to be crowned the League Leaders' Shield winners in Super League for the first time in eight years.

The Warriors entered the clash knowing that victory would land them the trophy for a fifth time, while anything less would mean a third crown in a row for St Helens.

A try apiece for Sam Powell and Sam Wood ensured Wigan and Huddersfield went into the break all square, but the division's top side flexed their muscles in the second period.

Jackson Hastings crossed the line and fired over a drop goal, either side of Zak Hardaker dotting down, as Wigan finished top of the pile in this shortened Super League campaign.

Wigan will now face either Warrington Wolves or Hull FC in the play-off semi-final, while St Helens await for one of Catalans Dragons or Leeds Rhinos.

Salford Red Devils saw off Wakefield Trinity 28-20 in Friday's other regular-season match to end their campaign on a positive note.

Krisnan Inu, Niall Evalds and Ed Chamberlain gave Salford a commanding lead before Tui Lolohea added a fourth try, shortly after Ryan Hampshire's brief reply.

Wakefield fought back well and reduced the 22-4 deficit to two points thanks to Kelepi Tanginoa's double and another from Hampshire, but Tyrone McCarthy pounced to kill off the comeback.