A slew of grid penalties at the Italian Grand Prix changed the whole complexion of Sunday's starting grid in Monza.

World championship leader Max Verstappen, who was second in Saturday's qualifying, was handed a five-place grid penalty after taking his fifth internal combustion engine (ICE) of the season.

His Red Bull team-mate, Sergio Perez, who qualified fourth, was handed a 10-place grid penalty for changing his ICE for the fourth time.

Taking a 15-place grid penalty were Alfa Romeo's Valtteri Bottas and Haas pair Kevin Magnussen and Mick Schumacher.

Despite the massive punishment, the trio still start ahead of Carlos Sainz, Lewis Hamilton and Yuki Tsunoda, who are at the back of the grid due to engine penalties.

Mercedes driver George Russell and McLaren duo Lando Norris and Daniel Ricciardo benefitted from the major shake-ups as they start in that order behind Ferari star Charles Leclerc, who took the pole position and was the only driver unaffected.