South Korea became the 2019 Sultan Azlan Shah Cup winners after winning a penalty shoot-out against India in a spectacular fashion on Saturday.

The final was locked at 1-1 at full time after Jang Jonghyun cancelled out Simranjeet Singh's ninth minute opener with a fourth-quarter penalty stroke at the Azlan Shah Cup Stadium in Ipoh.

In the penalty shoot-out, despite Kim Ki-hoon failing to score, the Koreans took a 3-2 lead after Sumit and Sumit Kumar missed their one-on-one attempts for India.

Needing just to score to see his team lift the cup for the third time after past triumphs in 1996 and 2010, Lee Nam-yong conjured up a magic moment.

The 28-year-old lifted the ball over goalkeeper Krishan Pathak, who was in place of experienced P. R. Sreejesh, and into the back of the net to seal the win.

Earlier in the day, hosts Malaysia improved on their last year's performance to finish third after beating Canada 4-2 in a classification round.

Despite going behind to Mark Pearson's first-quarter goal, the Speedy Tigers rallied back through Aiman Rozemi, Azrai Abu Kamal, Tengku Ahmad Tajuddin and Faizal Saari.

James Wallace scored a consolation for Canada in the final minute of the game.

Meanwhile, Poland had a Sultan Azlan Shah Cup debut to forget as they finished winless, losing their fifth and sixth placed play-off match 6-1 to Japan.

They had lost five of their pool stage matches, including a 10-0 hammering by India.

Japan, on the other hand, did not finish last for the first time in four appearances.