Kevin Harvick took a loose race car and made the most of it in qualifying at Charlotte Motor Speedway, winning the pole for Sunday's Coca-Cola 600.

It's Harvick's 20th career Monster Energy NASCAR Cup pole, and his third this season, tops among all drivers. He'll be searching for his first victory of 2017.

Race time is 6 p.m. on Fox.

"It was definitely breathtaking, I guess you could say, all three laps, because it was so edgy to drive," Harvick told FS1 afterward. "But all in all, as I guess they say, loose is fast. … It's a good start to a long night."

Kyle Busch, piloting one of the last cars to clear the inspection station, qualified second and will start on the front row beside Harvick. Busch rolled out late in Round 1 of qualifying but led the session. He then finished second to Harvick in both Round 2 and the final round.

"Starting up front really doesn't mean anything," Busch said. "It's just good for pit selection."

Once again, NASCAR's inspection process claimed a high-profile victim. Kyle Larson's No. 42 Chip Ganassi Racing Chevrolet did not clear the laser inspection bay in time. Corey LaJoie also did not finish inspection in time to turn a lap in Round 1.

Here is the starting lineup for Sunday night's Coca-Cola 600 (400 laps):

1. Kevin Harvick
2. Kyle Busch
3. Chase Elliott
4. Matt Kenseth
5. Erik Jones
6. Denny Hamlin
7. Ryan Blaney
8. Martin Truex Jr.
9. Clint Bowyer
10. Brad Keselowski
11. Jamie McMurray
12. Kurt Busch
13. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
14. Jimmie Johnson
15. Danica Patrick
16. Paul Menard
17. Ryan Newman
18. Trevor Bayne
19. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
20. Daniel Suarez
21. Michael McDowell
22. Austin Dillon
23. Joey Logano
24. Kasey Kahne
25. Regan Smith
26. A.J. Allmendinger
27. Ty Dillon
28. David Ragan
29. Chris Buescher
30. Matt DiBenedetto
31. Landon Cassill
32. Gray Gaulding
33. J.J. Yeley
34. Cole Whitt
35. Reed Sorenson
36. Timmy Hill
37. Derrike Cope
38. Jeffrey Earnhardt
39. Kyle Larson
40. Corey LaJoie