The Malaysian men's track cycling team narrowly missed out on medal contention for the team sprint event at the 2022 Commonwealth Games, finishing fifth in the qualifying round.

At the Lee Valley VeloPark in London, England, the trio of Shah Firdaus Sahrom, Ridwan Sahrom and Fadhil Zonis only managed to clock 44.496s, which was slower than New Zealand (43.974s) and Canada (44.071s) to contest for the bronze medal.

As for the gold medal race, England (43.296s) joined Australia in the final as the latter set a new Games record of 42.222s.

Malaysia last won a medal in the men's team sprint event 12 years ago when Azizulhasni Awang, Josiah Ng and Rizal Tisin clinched bronze for the country.

Meanwhile, the Malaysian women's team sprint team of Nurul Izzah Izzati Asri, Nurul Aliana Syafika Azizan and Anis Amira Rosidi were relegated in their qualifying stage.