Former world track cycling champion Azizulhasni Awang and rhythmic gymnast Amy Kwan Dict Weng were named the male and female Olympians of the Year 2018 at the 25th Olympic Council of Malaysia (OCM) Annual Dinner and Awards Night on Wednesday.

They each received RM10,000 cash and special medals from Deputy Prime Minister Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail at the ceremony.

Also present were Youth and Sports Minister Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman and OCM president Norza Zakaria.

30-year-old Azizul, who is also known as the ‘Pocket Rocketman’, displayed outstanding performances to bag three medals at the 2018 Jakarta-Palembang Asian Games – winning gold in sprint, silver in men’s team sprint and bronze in keirin.

However, Azizul was not present at the ceremony as he was in London to participate in the Track World Cup.

As for 23-year-old Kwan, she brought home four medals from the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games – gold in individual ribbon, silver in women’s team event and two bronze medals in individual all-around and hoop.

Azizul and Kwan are the third cyclist and gymnast respectively to win the award since its introduction in 1993.

The previous two cyclists to win the award were Josiah Ng (2004) and Fatehah Mustapa (2017) while the two gymnasts were Au Li Yen (1997 and Ng Shu Wai (2005).

The award honours the most outstanding male and female athletes who participate in multi-sports Games under the OCM’s jurisdiction, such as the Olympics, Asian Games, Commonwealth Games and SEA Games.

Meanwhile, badminton player Goh Jin Wei and the boys’ five-a-side hockey team, who both won the country’s historic gold medals at the third Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in Buenos Aires, Argentina, were presented with the OCM Special Awards.

The feats were also recognised by the Malaysia Book of Records, with Goh listed as the first Malaysian to win a gold at the YOG in an individual sport and the hockey squad the first for a team event.

Syed Saddiq presented Goh with RM10,000 cash and a special trophy as well as RM18,000 (RM2,000 for each player) and a special trophy to the hockey squad.

The ceremony also saw 1998 Commonwealth Games gold medallists – the men’s badminton team (Wong Choong Hann, Ong Ewe Hock, Yong Hock Kin, Yap Kim Hock, Cheah Soon Kit, Chong Tan Fook and Lee Wan Wah) and the rhythmic gymnastics team (Carolyn Au Yong, El Reginal Tajudin, Thye Chee Kiat and Sarina Sundara Rajah) – inducted into the OCM Hall of Fame.

Former OCM president Tunku Imran Tuanku Ja’afar and 1998 Commonwealth Games executive chairman Hashim Ali were also inducted into the Hall of Fame.

This year’s International Olympic Committee (IOC) Trophy, with the theme ‘Olympism in Action’, was awarded to the Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM), while Malaysia Ice Hockey Federation vice-president Susan Loh Su Fang bagged the Women and Sport award.


Olympian of the Year Award
Male: Mohd Azizulhasni Awang
Female: Amy Kwan Dict Weng

OCM Special Awards
1. Goh Jin Wei
2. National youth hockey 5s team

OCM Hall of Fame
1. Tunku Imran Tuanku Ja’afar (OCM)
2. Hashim Ali (SUKOM 98)

Retired Athletes
1. Men’s Badminton Team 1998 Commonwealth Games
- Wong Choong Hann
- Ong Ewe Hock
- Yong Hock Kin
- Yap Kim Hock
- Cheah Soon Kit
- Chong Tan Fook
- Lee Wan Wah

2. Rhythmic Gymnastics Women’s Team 1998 Commonwealth Games
- Carolyn Au Yong
- El Reginal Tajudin
- Thye Chee Kiat
- Sarina Sundara Rajah

IOC Trophy
Badminton Association of Malaysia (BAM)

OCM Women and Sports Award
Susan Loh Su Fang (Vice-President of the Malaysia Ice Hockey Federation)