The Malaysia cycling team won an Asian Games medal in the men's team sprint event for the first time on Monday, clinching a silver medal at the Jakarta International Velodrome.

The trio of Azizulhasni Awang, Shah Firdaus Sahrom and Fadhil Zonis clocked 44.598s to finish behind China's Li Jianxin, Xu Chao and Zhou Yu (44.160s) in the final.

The Malaysian trio also briefly held a new Asian Games record after they qualified for the final with a time of 43.934s, but Japan (43.899s) later claimed the record in their bronze medal win against South Korea (43.976s).

China made it two gold from two team sprint events, as they were also victorious in the women's final by beating Hong Kong on the same day.

As for Malaysia female cyclists Farina Shawati Adnan and Anis Amira Rosidi, they failed to make it into the top four for a medal finish.

The men's team sprint event was first competed in 2002 in Busan, South Korea, before its female counterpart was introduced 12 years later.