Real Madrid has won its first La Liga title in five seasons, sealing glory with a 2-0 win at Malaga on Sunday.

Zinedine Zidane's Champions League finalists went into the final day of the season needing a point at La Rosaleda to oust bitter rivals Barcelona as champions.

In the end they did more than enough, as goals from Cristiano Ronaldo and Karim Benzema secured a 29th win of the top-flight season. Real Madrid finishes the season with a record of 29-6-3 for 93 points, three points ahead of Barca.

Overall, Madrid extended its all-time record for La Liga wins to 33, and this season's success checks Barcelona's recent dominance of the competition.

Los Blancos' previous title came under Jose Mourinho in 2011-12, marking their longest drought since Johan Cruyff's Barca won four in a row between 1990-91 and 1993-94.

Madrid now has two La Liga triumphs over the past nine seasons, set alongside six for Barca and Atletico Madrid's surprise march to glory in 2013-14.

Zidane's men will now attempt to become the first team in the Champions League era to retain its European crown when it faces Juventus in Cardiff on June 3.

Victory in Malaga also stretched Madrid's ongoing club record of scoring in consecutive games, going back to April last year, to 64 matches.