Almost half of the teams competing in the top two divisions of the M-League, including Kelantan, are set to be punished by Football Malaysia LLP (FMLLP) for failing to complete their team registrations for the 2018 season.

Despite the season already well underway, the M-League showrunner revealed on Monday that six teams did not complete the mandatory registration process and four did not submit their documents on time.

The six are the Red Warriors and fellow Malaysian Super League side Kuala Lumpur, and Malaysian Premier League's Kuantan, PDRM, Penang and Sarawak.

The other four teams – Selangor, PKNS, MISC-MIFA and UKM – missed the deadline despite being given several reminders and extensions.

Depending on FMLLP's deliberation, the teams could be handed point deductions or transfer bans, or both.

Of the 10 teams, only Kelantan are a repeat offender, having been punished with a three-point deduction, initially six, and a mid-season transfer ban last season, which almost caused them to be relegated.

Another similar punishment this year could severely affect their season, as they are currently bottom of the Super League table with one point from three games.